THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS

       5/5 Stars

  • Member of my TWISTER HALL OF FAME 
  • Author: M. R. Carey
  • Published June 19th 2014 by Orbit

I kind of hate that one of the major surprises in this book is all over the internet as if it is common knowledge. THE GIRL WITH ALL THE SECRETS works even better if you just go in blind. Trust me! I listened to this book on Audible when it first came out, based solely on the blurb below:

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

This book is a little bit of every kind of genre you can imagine.  And it works. It is bursting with ideas, characters, explanations. The plot is based on the scientific theory of evolution and it is explained in such a manner, you will have nightmares for weeks just thinking it might come true.

The character of Melanie is so endearing, she’s one of my favorites of all time. She’s smart, fierce and scrappy.  She loves Miss Justineau in a heartbreaking way that will resonate with your own first crush on a teacher.

There are some longish sections of violence and war, but as a reader I was so invested in Melanie and Miss Justineau, I had to see how the book would end. It will not let you down. The ending is brilliant and unforgettable.

There is a movie version which I have seen. Don’t even bother, it was nowhere close to the Audible recording as far as performance quality goes.

AMAZON The Girl With All the Gifts

Author: J e w e l s

Professional reader, amateur opinion giver, INFP (mediator personality✌️). Animal advocate, supporter of books and yarn, coffee and Portland. Unhealthy obsession with true crime. Twisty book and movie lovers are my tribe. And my fam is the best!

One thought on “THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s