THE LAST TIME I LIED

FIVE ROCKIN’ STARS
  • Author: Riley Sager
  • Publication date: July 3, 2018

I’m trying my best to contain my excitement and review Riley Sager’s new book in a professional manner.

YIPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

See that? I only used one exclamation point. I want at least 300 more! It is a spanking good, cracker jack of a novel that I could not stop reading!

THE LAST TIME I LIED is a brilliant and campy (pun intended) mystery for all you grown up fans of Nancy Drew or the Hardy Boys.

It will be the 2018 summer-beach-novel-must-read! This is a nostalgic and twisted look back at your own summer camp memories. It’s terrific fun!

I’m crazy about Sager’s deceptively easy writing style. He breezes right through the telling of the story, all the while creating mood, atmosphere and the fun kind of dread you get in the pit of your stomach while watching a horror flick. The pages suck you in and Sager holds your hand as he walks you through the creepy story that began 15 years ago at Camp Nightingale.

Three out of four girls disappeared from the Dogwood cabin and that fourth girl? She suffered a nervous breakdown in the months following the disappearance of her friends. In a way, she is the “sole survivor”, and if you loved FINAL GIRLS you know what that means. Yes, Emma is a Final Girl and she is a sympathetic and very unreliable narrator. Emma has a chance to return to the camp fifteen years later, and of course, in Riley Sager’s world, she goes back to teach art at the camp. Oh, and to solve the old mystery while confronting her many demons.

Please don’t bother to read the overly long and convoluted book jacket synopsis. It almost scared me away. So many names that are meaningless until you read the story. If you liked FINAL GIRLS, you will love THE LAST TIME I LIED. It is also delicious reading for fans of THE CHALK MAN or GOOD ME BAD ME.

THE LAST TIME I LIED is a completely different story from FINAL GIRLS, but the same brilliant author supervising the fun. I’m pushing this book into all my friends’ beach bags!

Many thanks to Dutton Publishers and Edelweiss for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book before publication. All opinions are my own.